Reviews for The Flame Priest
Cindy rated it 5 of 5 stars - Feb 24, 2012 - posted on Goodreads
Shelves: chemistry-a-plenty, fantasy, favorites, medieval, swoon-worthy-heroes, tortured-heroes, unforgettable-heroines, very-favorite
This book was just as amazing as the first, and it takes off were we left off at the end of The Steel Queen. Kath, Duncan and their group are off to stop the Mordant. I was so shocked that he is who he is, I couldn't believe it. Liander and her kingdom is in conflict with its own military. The infiltrated Red Horns are trying to dethrone her. Liandra is a force all her own, and if you are going to play her you better know your game. She is awesome, one of my all time favorites in this story. Mean while Justin, Samson and Grandma Magdna are all trying to survive in Coronth, and take down the Potifax and his Flame God. That is quite an under taking. This story is really well done the writing is good the characters are breathtaking weather for good or for evil they are so well fleshed out. The characters really make the story, as well as the plot, so many twist and turns and oh my heck that did not just happen, and then I was jumping up and down yes, yes yes, that was so awesome. The romance comes full circle for some of our favorite characters and there is even a surprise romance as well woo, woo. Mrs. Azinger had me in awe, in tears, and hurraying. She kept me a very captive audience who is overly anxious for book 3...well all the rest:) Great Story!

5 stars - Heartwrenching, August 5, 2013 - posted on Amazon
By Erika (United States) - (REAL NAME)  
The stuff that goes down in this book is sick. I had several visceral responses to certain scenes. Karen has way of filling me with unease. There are some new characters on the light and the dark sides. This series is really shaping up to be an epic.

5 stars - and building upon each - with wonderful twists and turns, December 12, 2013 - posted on Amazon
By K. M. Noren "book worm" (Minnesota) - (REAL NAME)  
The second in the series - Bought the first when it came out - This one builds on the first, following the multi-character story line, and building upon each - with wonderful twists and turns. Great development of character and background and the way she weaves the connections of this fantasy epic of good vs evil.. Keeps you wondering...

5 stars - The flame priest, March 19, 2014 - posted on Amazon
By ellie f. foret 
Fantastic. Absolutely love the adventure, the development of all the characters. Definitely a book for all ages. I am 70 years young and am so caught up in this series I find myself neglecting my daily tasks. And I love it!!!

5 star The Flame Priest, February 2, 2012, posted on Amazon
By Gwand
The sequel to The Steel Queen does not disappoint! The book picks up with excitement and adventure around every corner. With evil making its way across the lands of Erdhe and Kath and her companions race against time to stop it. This is fast paced and hard to put down! I can't wait for the next book!

5 star Another Amazing Novel, Jan 30, 2012, posted on Goodreads
By Zak Oglesby
Another amazing novel from Karen Azinger. To those who have read the Steel Queen (and if you haven't I urge you to stop reading this review now and go pick it up) this series should need no introduction. Ms. Azinger's debut work the series is a giant in fantastic literature, a triumph of characterization and plot.

In the Flame Priest Ms. Azinger continues many of the stories which began in the Steel Queen, everything from Liandra's growing fear of rebellion to the terrible theocracy of Coronth. Within this Azinger weaves in new characters and plot points with the grace of a ballerina and the artistry of a painter. From quite but powerful Zith to the increased role of Grandmother Magda, every character is perfectly balanced and amazingly real feeling.

The story clips along at the same pace as the novel which proceeded it but while that book took a couple fifty pages to gain momentum this book begins at a breakneck pace. Stories with hundreds of complex parts whirl together to create this monument to literature 

Bravo Ms. Azinger, bravo. May the Skeleton King be just as good and see a speedy publication. The Dark Harper will sing of you, I have no doubt, for all the best heroes are part of his stories! 

5 stars - Page Turner, May 29, 2012 - posted on Amazon
By JKemhus 
The Flaming Priest did not let me down. I was very excited to get my hands on this book after the Steel Queen. Karen moved straight into more conspiracies and powerful characters. She has an amazing ability to drag the reader into her world. This book was full of action and movement. Karen has a wonderful fluidity as she transitions between one character to the next. It was very hard to put the book down when I had to. I loved this book and who her characters have turned into or are turning into as you grow to know them even better.
I have enjoyed reading Kath and understanding her as she transitions from young adult to woman. Linadra is a truly amazing character. I have become even more attached to her after this book and am starving to see how her mind and strategies work for the Skeleton King. Duncan has to be one of my favorite male characters in the books. Amazing wit and strength his character is taken to a new level in this book. Karen definitely had me sitting on the edge of my seat with her page turning events. Amazing!

In the Flame Priest Ms. Azinger continues many of the stories which began in the Steel Queen, everything from Liandra's growing fear of rebellion to the terrible theocracy of Coronth. Within this Azinger weaves in new characters and plot points with the grace of a ballerina and the artistry of a painter. From quite but powerful Zith to the increased role of Grandmother Magda, every character is perfectly balanced and amazingly real feeling.
The story clips along at the same pace as the novel which proceeded it but while that book took a couple fifty pages to gain momentum this book begins at a breakneck pace. Stories with hundreds of complex parts whirl together to create this monument to literature 
Bravo Ms. Azinger, bravo. May the Skeleton King be just as good and see a speedy publication. The Dark Harper will sing of you, I have no doubt, for all the best heroes are part of his stories! 

5 stars - An enjoyable epic fantasy book, February 5, 2012
By "Seregil of Rhiminee" (Finland) 
The Flame Priest continues the entertaining epic fantasy story that started in The Steel Queen. Karen Azinger doesn't disappoint her fans, because she handles several subplots fluently and the story becomes more interesting and entertaining as the story goes on.

Before I write more about this book, here's a short synopsis of the previous book (if you haven't read The Steel Queen yet, you may want to skip the next paragraph):

In the previous book Kath saw visions of ancient times and found a mysterious crystal dagger. She traveled to the Kiralynn monks with Jordan, Duncan and Blaine. Liandra fought against the threat of the Red Horns. Steffan enjoyed the gifts of the Dark Lord and helped the Pontifax to get more support for the brutal and violent religion of the Flame God. Samson fled from Coronth, but was sent back. Jordan's brother, Justin, decided to help Samson. Danly dreamed of being a king. And the Mordant was reborn.

Here's a bit of information about The Flame Priest:

In The Flame Priest Katherine (Kath) is worried about the fate of her sword-sister, Jordan. She prepares to fight against the darkness and learns how to use magic. Liandra is getting ready to face the Red Horns. She also learns how she was betrayed. Justin is in Coronth and is hoping to change the city and its people with his music and songs. Danly is anxious to become a king, because he wants it badly and wants to see her mother pay for her actions. Steffan (the Lord Raven) invents new and devious ways to make the religion of the Flame God more brutal and popular than ever before in order to please the Dark Lord. And the Mordant has his own evil plans...

Karen Azinger has developed nicely as an author, because now she writes more fluently. She clearly has a talent for epic storytelling and she's not afraid to use it. Her writing is at its best surprisingly lush and almost shamelessly entertaining (and also extremely addictive, because it's difficult to stop reading the book). The descriptions of different places and persons are now more nuanced than in the previous book and the plot has become more complex.

The character development is wonderful, because the characters are believable and they develop in exciting and interesting ways. Especially the strong female characters are worth praising, because female characters tend to be a bit weaker characters in several traditional fantasy series, but not in this series. Kath and Liandra are strong and fascinating characters (the Priestess of the Oracle is also a great character).

Reading about the evil characters is also fascinating, because they're charmingly wicked. The chapters about Steffan and the Mordant are engrossing and well written and they offer lots of entertainment to fantasy fans. I'm sure that several readers will be thrilled to read about these characters.

Character interaction also works better in The Flame Priest. For example, the scene where Danly talks to his mother about how he managed to take the throne from her and gloats about his accomplishment, is a fantastic scene. The author describes perfectly how both characters feel and act in this scene: Danly is extremely happy and isn't afraid to show it to Liandra, but Liandra refuses to show his son how shocked she is. There are also several other excellent scenes, but I don't want to reveal everything in this review.

The religion of the Flame God is one of the best and most amazing things about this book, because the author describes all the violent and nasty happenings (especially the Test of Flame) dramatically. It's easy to imagine how ecstatically the religiously fanatic people want to burn the sinners in order to prove that they're true believers. The author shows how dangerous and explosive religious zealotry can be when people surrender themselves to fanaticism and forget everything else.

Another excellent thing is that there are lots of surprises in this book. The plot is delightfully unpredictable at certain points and the author manages to avoid typical fantasy clichés, which is admirable. There are kings, queens, princesses and princes etc in this book, but the way that the author writes about these things feels fresh. (It's great that there are authors who are capable of writing this kind of traditional epic fantasy, because traditional epic fantasy is at its best very enjoyable and offers wonderful escapism for fantasy readers.)

I must also mention that it's fascinating to see how the evil characters try to please the Dark Lord. It's nice to read what they do and what consequences their actions have on other people.

The Flame Priest is a fascinating vision of an epic battle between the forces of the light and the brutal forces of the darkness. It differs nicely from several other similar books, because the author has spent time to create a complex and vast fantasy world (there are lots of small details in this book). That's why there's a lot of depth in this book.

The Flame Priest is a highly entertaining fantasy book. It's a traditional, but also modern epic fantasy book with occasional references to sex and violence. It will appeal to readers who like traditional epic fantasy series. I think that this book can also be recommended to newcomers who haven't read fantasy before, because the plot is captivating and there's plenty of adventure and plot twists.

If you enjoyed reading The Steel Queen, you must read The Flame Priest, because you won't be disappointed. It's a damn good and enjoyable fantasy book. I have to admit that I can hardly wait to read the third book.

5 stars - Great Series, February 9, 2013 - posted on Amazon
By patsy
Although I think this series might be YA and I'm 66 years old I'm really enjoying the series and I'm now on the third book highly recommended

5 star A great read that you can't put down, January 28, 2012, posted on Amazon
By DC
"The Flame Priest", the second book of Karen Azinger's "The Silk and Steel Saga", continues to weave multiple story lines and has even more twists and turns in the plot than "The Steel Queen." I don't read a lot of science fiction and fantasy, but once I started reading these books, I could not put them down. I am eagerly awaiting the next book to find out what has become of my favorite characters. If you want to be transported into a different world and meet characters that will stay with you long after you have finished 
the books, this series is for you.

5 star The Battle for the HEARTS of Erdhe Grows, Jan 17, 2012, posted on Barnes&Noble
By The Gnome
Ok.. The Gnome has been in a HEAVY reading mode this last month reading such LONG Sagas as the Song of Fire of Ice (by G R R Martin) and some good Summer Reading fiction like David Baldacci's: The Collectors. In between all this I managed to Fit in some time to read the SECOND installment of Karen Azingers Silk and Steel Saga: The Flame Priest... This is not just the Second book in the saga but also her second book ever and the improvement is amazing... Now to be fair part of my "knock" on the first book was simply that I wanted more and MORE is what she delivers. The Characterization is really starting to tighten up and some of where this seems to be going is very interesting indeed... Once again the use of GOLDS (a monetary standard) as a character is very well handled and explores an issue in much fantasy fiction that gets ignored alot (unfairly in my opinion) that of just HOW did all these heros PAY for thier heroics. The bad guys pay in... well to say the least some unwholesome ways (and the battle between both the Sides of Darkness to OUT Gain the Favor of the Lord of Darkness is VERY gripping) but the good guys need to live by some rules of economy and Karen handles it well making for the well realized land of Erdhe... (on a side note I also recieved her book of Short Stories that include some tantalizing looks into the HISTORY of Erdhe... but that is another review LOL)

5 star Love this series!, January 15, 2012, posted on Amazon
By KindleQueen
I have read both books in the series and the second book does not fall into the usual middle book trap of being tedious and boring. Its every bit as good as the first and the ending on this book was amazing. I was so into the story that I didn't realize I was coming to the end and when I hit the last page I was still wanting more. I can't wait for the 3rd book and I plan to buy it as soon as it releases. Well worth the read! 
This is probably one of my all time favorite series and I immediately added the books to my keepers file as I plan to re-read them in the future.

5 stars This Book Delivers!, January 13, 2012, posted on Amazon
By angstprone
Great new characters and great old ones make for a great story. The saga continues without pause as Karen Azinger's story flows smoothly from "The Steel Queen". "The Flame Priest" takes evil and cowardice to new levels, as the plot weaves in new directions while maintaining original truths. Hard to put down, I had to finish this read and cannot wait for the next installment! Highly recommended!

5 star Completely addicted!, December 26, 2011, posted on Amazon
By Ronna K Rothenberger “ronnakay”
Karen Azinger does not disappoint in this sequel to her engaging first novel The Steel Queen. The adventure continues in The Flame Priest and the excitement is around every corner with our heroes facing dire challenges as they race against time to fight the evil that is quickly making its way through the lands of Erdhe. Wonderful character development and amazing attention to detail in the creating of this world make the journey with the characters even more amazing. Looking forward to the next segment in the journey as I am now completely addicted!!

5 star Exhilarating!, December 26, 2011, posted on Amazon
By Ruthie A Pfueller “wyer222”
Finished tonight! Exhilirating. Things are really moving n the Lands of Erhde and Kath and her companions are growing upfast and becoming seasoned warriors. The Mordants evil knows nö bounds but neither does the determination and convictions of those who oppose him. Looking forward to the next installment of this exciting tail! Karen Azinger has captured my fancy and made me a fan! 
Can't wait to see which way the wind blows the Dark Bard and his entrouge and what they will do with the ruby focus!

5 star Entered this world in "The Steel Queen" and continue to enjoy the experience in "The Flame Priest", December 7, 2011, posted on Amazon
By Mary E Galvin
This world created by Karen with great characters, plots and sub plots, captured my imagination and took me for a great ride.

5 stars - New Charactors Abound!, August 22, 2012 - posted on Amazon
By Lydia M. Dobranski "The Travel Queen" (Bend, OR USA) - (REAL NAME)  
Wow! This is good! Just when you thought you knew what evil looked like... Hard book to put down, 'til the end...