Reviews for The Steel Queen
5 out of 5 stars Loved this book so much I went back and shot-gunned ...
By Amazon Customer on November 9, 2015
Loved this book so much I went back and shot-gunned the entire series! Fans of Robert Jordan & R.R.Martin rejoice - great story line (but much, much shorter and accessible).

5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and very well written-the characters are so engaging!, May 29, 2011
Amazon.com
By Ronna K. Rothenberger "ronnakay" (Portland, OR)
This review is from: The Steel Queen (Paperback)
If there is one thing I love it is finding a great book series! One is never enough for me and Karen Azinger does not disappoint in setting up her Silk and Steel Saga with her first book The Steel Queen. The world is artfully created, the characters rich and well defined but also with room for growth not only in this book but in the rest of the series. There is plenty of action and it never seems long and drawn out like in lesser novels. The Steel Queen is a work of literary art and I am very much looking forward to the rest of the series! I loved the jouney I took with the characters throughout this book and look forward to joining them on the next journey! Long Live The Steel Queen!

5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my Wildest Expectations! Absolutely Stunning!, May 28, 2011
Amazon.com
By Christine E. Miller   
This review is from: The Steel Queen (Paperback)
Wow! The alternate universe that Karen Azinger has imagined, in her debut novel, "The Steel Queen," is absolutely stunning! I am generally not a fantasy fan, but I do make exceptions for the rare works of authors, such as Tolkien, who write fantasy as serious literature. Azinger's first novel falls into this category. Beautiful prose aside, the writing doesn't take a backseat to the action. In a medieval world of forgotten magic, signs of an ancient evil emerge. In a style that bears a clever resemblance to historical fiction, Liandra, the Spider Queen, spreads a web of spies to guard her throne. A vein of blue ore has been discovered in Castlegard, and a growing cult of the Flame God, in Coronth, threatens the northern border of Lanverness. But what concerns Liandra most is news of a Painted Warrior, felled by arrows fletched with the Mordant's colors. While Liandra's shadowmen harvest new secrets, the Knight Marshall, of the domain of Castlegard, wonders if the reappearance of blue ore is a sign that a hero is once again needed in the Lands of Erdhe.

From a creative standpoint, I am often surprised at how fantasy, which should arguably be one of the most imaginative of all literary genres, turns out to be little more than a variation of the same old fantasy template. But when the Lands of Erdhe grow increasingly dark and dangerous, as the Dark Lord prepares to reenter the earth, a fresh new literary voice is born. Although Azinger's book has specific elements that are identifiably Tolkienesque, her powerful writing voice, intellectual treatment of the conflict between Good and Evil, and development of strong female characters sets her apart. And for reader's, such as myself, who shudder at the appearance of orbs and fireballs, it seems that the power of magic will be used sparingly and with finesse, making it infinitely more intriguing in the long run. Azinger has also perfected the multiple character point-of-view, alternating seamlessly between characters in a style that is particularly effective in engaging the ADD among us.

The book's upcoming publication was announced at the London Book Fair, several years ago, were Azinger received such high praise that my expectations, when I sat down to read the book, were stratospheric. Yet the book did not disappoint! It has adventure, romance, politics, and intrigue while remaining intellectually exciting and emotionally powerful. You will be left on the edge of your seat waiting to purchase the next book in this series that is set off with a kalaidoscopic masterpiece.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Thoughtful, Action-Filled Fantasy Novel, May 24, 2011
Amazon.com
By William Johnson "Bill Johnson" (Portland, OR United States) 
This review is from: The Steel Queen (Paperback)
Karen's novel is that rare blend of intelligent, well-plotted fantasy with deeply felt characters. This is a Tolkien-est, fully-realized world, with characters who operate with the best and worst of intentions. A fun, lively read.